Purpose, mk. II

Because of the flurry of recent activity on “Blowing on the Embers,” I decided to updated my Purpose page, as well as clean up and polish a few things. Thank you so much for visiting and reading and commenting on my blog. It is a real encouragement and affirmation.

I am Cody Raak, a second-year seminary student, and I am pursuing ordination in the Reformed Church in America, with special interest in spiritual formation and liturgical renewal. As a growing writer, I am excited to see how my gifts and voice can help nurture a congregation’s spiritual health.

Which brings me to my purpose for writing this blog. I have to read a lot: for class, for church, for fun. I also have to listen a lot: to sermons, to lectures, to peers, to pastors, to professors, to my wife, to my self. And then I’m asked to write. A lot.

You begin to see, as I have, that my life, at present, centers around and trades in words: Words spoken, words read, words written, words thought, words analyzed, words critiqued, words, words, words.

I grew up on a farm in rural Iowa, and, even though I was never a “farm boy,” there are many days when I miss doing real things with my own hands, touching the real earth in real life. At first these deep longings startled me. After all, I love words! I love thinking and imagining and speaking and writing. Why should these no longer satisfy?

This blog is an ongoing attempt to let my words connect with my life, and my life with my words. If what I study has no bearing on how I live, then why bother? And since all of this writing and reflecting and practicing has taught me so much, I thought I’d keep an open log of my reflections, for both our benefit.

May the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, the love of the Father, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit, be with us now and forever. Amen.

Signature

Please respond:

