Distracted

GOSPEL | JOHN 2:13-22

13 The Passover of the Jews was near, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.  14 In the temple he found people selling cattle, sheep, and doves, and the money changers seated at their tables.  15 Making a whip of cords, he drove all of them out of the temple, both the sheep and the cattle. He also poured out the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables.  16 He told those who were selling the doves, “Take these things out of here! Stop making my Father’s house a marketplace!”  17 His disciples remembered that it was written, “Zeal for your house will consume me.”  18 The Jews then said to him, “What sign can you show us for doing this?”  19 Jesus answered them, “Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.”  20 The Jews then said, “This temple has been under construction for forty-six years, and will you raise it up in three days?”  21 But he was speaking of the temple of his body.  22 After he was raised from the dead, his disciples remembered that he had said this; and they believed the scripture and the word that Jesus had spoken.

Father,

I confess that I am distracted. My attention flits among a myriad of other things, always avoiding focus. I am enticed away by the slightest whisper of more satisfying leisures. I would rather do anything else, even when I am doing anything else.

You have already saved me from my sin; you have washed me, and clothed me with salvation, and yet I find myself peripherally peering at the mudpies outside. Forgive me.

Draw my attention, Lord. Rule my desires:

Just as you drove out the merchants from the temple courts, even so, drive out whatever is in my way, that I may be unencumbered to follow your Son, even unto the cross.

Just as you poured out the coins of the money changers, even so, pour out my hoard of collected diversions, that I may be open to receive more of you.

Just as you overturned the tables, even so, overturn my misdirected pursuits, that I may be brought to more satisfying ones.

In the name of Your Son Jesus, and in the power of Your Holy Spirit, I pray,

Amen.

Please respond:

