Quote

A prayer for a full and filling schedule

This is a prayer from The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions, ed. Arthur Bennett. I bought this book in college for a “Calvin & Calvinism” course, and never read it, and now I find it invaluable. I have found immense richness in praying “borrowed” prayers, especially when my mind and soul are too clouded or frenzied to find their own words.

“Grace Active”

LORD JESUS, GREAT HIGH PRIEST,

Thou hast opened a new and living way
by which a fallen creature can approach thee with acceptance.

Help me to contemplate the dignity of thy Person,
the perfectness of thy sacrifice,
the effectiveness of thy intercession.

O what blessedness accompanies devotion,
     when under all the trials that weary me,
                               the cares that corrode me,
                               the fears that disturb me,
                               the infirmities that oppress me,
     I can come to thee in my need
     and feel peace beyond understanding!

The grace that restores is necessary to preserve,
lead, guard, supply, help me.

To thee I repair for grace upon grace,
until every void made by sin be replenished
and I am filled with all thy fullness.

May my desires be enlarged and my hopes emboldened,
that I may honour thee by my entire dependency
and the greatness of my expectation.

May I find thy grace sufficient for all my needs.

2 thoughts on “A prayer for a full and filling schedule

Please respond:

